Going Home for Thanksgiving Break

It was definitely a treat to go home for Thanksgiving break. You seem to take for granted to time you have with your family when you come home from school to sit in the living room and eat dinner with your parents every day. My mom kept offering up different activities to my brother (who also is away at school and came home for the break) and I in order to prevent our boredom. I don’t think she recognized how much we really just missed laying on the couch with dad in the recliner next to us dozing off during the commercials of O’Reily Factor.

The strangest part for me was packing my bag in Columbia to go home. Pouring shampoo and conditioner into travel  size bottles and planning out the weather in Atlanta to decide weather or not to pack my scarves made me feel like I was going to be a guest in my own house. Of course, as soon as I entered the door, that faded quickly.

The whole family was together for the first time in what seemed to be quite a while. Thanksgiving day was spent at my uncles house with all my cousins as well as my grandparents. Although I do appreciate the food at Gibbes, it was nice to have some home-cooked meals again- especially followed by a nap on a couch instead of a futon. Black Friday shopping will follow the turkey induced slumber as tradition, rather than need of a new TV. For Thanksgiving, the first thing that pops into my mind that I am thankful for is my family… and their willingness to nap on the couch with me.

Leave a Reply

