Halfway There

It’s hard to believe that I am halfway done with my first college semester. When the word “midterm” was mentioned in class, I had to check my calendar to see if we really were midway into the semester. It seems like my parents just stopped sending me packages from home requested by calls home opening with “Mom, I forgot my…”

I never really thought that I would be able to call a dorm my home. When my brother went off to college while I was in my freshman year in high school and he would come home for summer and talk of going back “home” at OSU, I would get onto him for considering any other place than our family’s house home. Now, I catch myself doing the same thing. It’s easy to call USC my home because I’ve gotten involved with organizations around campus.

I think I’ve learned a lot of responsibility in the time that I’ve been on my own. Classes wise, I have nobody asking me what my grades are anymore, but I check Blackboard on a daily basis to make sure I’m keeping up. I’ve always been very dependent on my mom, but now I get to call home and tell her what I did all by myself that day. It’s a cool feeling to surprise them with my maturity. Granted, I have a long way to go before I consider myself an adult, I’m making steps in the right direction. I still wait a whole week before I pick my clothes up off the floor.

Leave a Reply

